Manchester

What could I possibly say that hasn’t already been said about the despicable attack in Manchester earlier this week? I’ve started this post a dozen times and have nothing to offer. I’m therefore going to do what I often do and borrow someone else’s words.

Tony Walsh, as I think most of you will know, wrote a poem “This Is The Place” in tribute to the past, present and future of Manchester (England’s second city). If you haven’t already seen him read it at the vigil held in Manchester earlier this week, see it here. This short article sums up what I thought when I first heard Mr Walsh deliver his poem. 

A couple of friends have posted quotes on Facebook that convey some of the feelings that I have had:

I wouldn’t change my children for the world but I wish I could change the world for my children.” (Unknown)

You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.” (Maya Angelou)

Finally, the following MLK Jr quote came to mind in tribute to the bravery, overwhelming generosity and outpouring of love and practical help shown in many ways by many people during and after the attack:

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.

It seems inconsequential and inappropriate in my first post after a massacre aimed at children and teenagers to continue this post with my meandering thoughts. Suffice it to say that, today at least, we are all relatively well and I am grateful for that.

Take care

rx

Leave a Reply

