Let Them Eat Cake

After rambling updates Japanese style, the remainder of this post is about some wonderful fundraising by friends and former colleagues for the Brain Tumour Charity. Don’t worry, this is not a sponsorship request, it is a public thank you (whether they like it or not) to those who have raised money recently.

Haiku Updates – Health, Happiness and the Hobbit House

I’m feeling stable,

which might precede a set-back

but I seize the joy.

I napped this p.m.

as I was a bit tired,

it was a good nap!

I played with Leo,

Jennifer and my Dad too

and read to both kids.

Jennifer asked me

to go upstairs at bedtime

as a special treat.

I think that she meant

it would be a treat for her;

the treat was all mine.

Our new Hobbit House

has been stripped of wallpaper:

thank you Rach and Bren!

The builders are in

working hard and at some pace

digging and building.

Most importantly,

we have tv and broadband:

The Champions League!

[They] Make Me Wanna Shout[out]!

The Squatter has been cited in these recent fundraising successes for the Brain Tumour Charity.

Nursery Times

The nursery that both Jennifer and Leo attend, Highfield Day Care, organised a week of fundraising a month or so ago, which involved a raffle, name the teddy and cake sale among other things. Thanks to the wonderful staff who organised it and those who donated prizes and all those, including fellow parents, who donated so generously. The Final Count-Up showed that they raised £238.15! The nursery staff (and fellow parents) have been incredibly supportive to us as a family. When I thanked the manager for both the fundraising and the support, she said that we are a nursery family. They certainly have shown that in both their words and deeds in good times and bad.

CB10

One of my old firms, Covington & Burling, held a jeans day in their London office last month and raised just under £300. Although I used to work in that office, I left nine years ago and the office has grown since then. The number of people there who I know are probably outnumbered by those I don’t! It is therefore very touching that they would arrange a jeans day with most people not knowing who it was for! Although, who doesn’t like paying to wear jeans at work? Thanks to everyone at C&B who arranged it and contributed!

(“CB10” is embossed on my clobazam tablets, which I take three times a day. Every time, I check that it’s the right tablet and every time, it reminds me of my old firm.)

Rundraising

  1. The running total for Emily’s Heads Up! 2017 challenge to be undertaken in September is already over £1200, plus gift aid and the Virgin Money pledge to add 10% to all donations made on Monday. Thank you to all of those who have generously donated!
  2. Rachel T has completed two of the three challenges she has set for herself: (a) the Dark Skies run, which was over 14 miles around Kielder reservoir in the pitch black; (b) the Stockton duathlon (cue: further shout out within a shout out to my home town and the Stockton massive/mafia!) comprising of a 5km run, a 20km cycle and then a further 3km run; and, (c) the Edinburgh half-marathon. Rachel has already raised £270.

Thanks to both of you for your amazing running and riding efforts to date and, in case I don’t see you, thanks for those you’ll each undertake in the future!

Marie Moment

Today, the Newcastle office of Bond Dickinson (another of my former firms) held a dress-down day and cake sale. Thanks to Ann and Anna for arranging it and to all those who so generously donated cakes and lolly. Initial exit polls indicate that over £600 has been raised, which is a might fine effort and has really put the icing on the end of my week!

Here are a couple of photos to whet your appetite (in other words, let’s see what you could have won!):

Back to the Future

A friend of ours, who was first a friend of my brother’s and now a friend of the family, has been influential in his team choosing the Brain Tumour Charity for this month’s charity event at work. I don’t know how much has been raised as it needs to be added up from various activities in April but every single penny is welcome and gratefully received.

Cherries on the Top

I had an unusual message via the blog the other day:

I would like to personally congratulate you as your blog 400,000,000 to 1 – Two siblings. Two brain tumours has been selected by our panelist as one of the Top 100 Brain Cancer Blogs on the web.

I personally give you a high-five and want to thank you for your contribution to this world. This is the most comprehensive list of Top 100 Brain Cancer Blogs on the internet and I’m honored to have you as part of this!

I query how many “Top 100 Brain Cancer Blogs” there are on the internet – is there any competition to the claim that theirs is the most comprehensive?! At the same time, I’ll take any “honours” and “badges” I can get so I’m pleased to have made my mark (flying in at the bottom spot of the top half of the table). After all, they think that I’ve made a “contribution to the world” so who am I to question!

I don’t really know what to do on Twitter except get lost down rabbit holes. This week, I bit the bullet and sent my first tweet at a particular person. The honour of receiving my first tweet was bestowed on one of my favourite authors, Harlan Coben. I met him once years ago at a book signing in London and I’m happy to note that he was as much of a nice guy as I had hoped. Anyway, Harlan replied to my tweet within minutes, I replied almost immediately and then he replied to my reply almost immediately! I was so excited, it was ridiculous. It has given me inspiration to hone my technique and knowledge of how to make a mark in the twitter world. Watch out, Barack, I’m coming for you (in a good way)!

Enjoy the Bank Holiday weekend!

rx

3 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake”

Leave a Reply

