C-Sick

Yesterday, my assigned nurse at the Chemo Day Unit confirmed that my blood test results were fine and dandy. I was duly packed off with five days’ worth of Temo the Chemo to start my third cycle. I took the tablets around 4pm, along with an anti-sickness tablet. As I mentioned in a previous post, for those not paying attention, I have to take the Temo at least two hours after food and two hours before food.

I felt fine and had my tea at around 6.15pm. It was lamb and roasted veg, nothing unusual. I felt soon after that it had not quite settled in my stomach and then felt a bit nauseous. Less than an hour later, Jennifer chose Mr Greedy for a bedtime story and, towards the end, as I was reading to her about giant sausages etc, I thought: “yeah, I really think I’m going to be sick”! I finished the story then went through to our bedroom to have a lie down and get some fresh air, hoping the sickness feeling would pass.

It didn’t. The whole of my tea came back up, having been rejected by my stomach. It only took about two minutes for my tea to resurface and nothing else came up (e.g., bile or the water I had sipped after I’d been sick). The chemo tablets seemingly instructed my stomach to eject the food! I took another anti-sickness tablet and then fell asleep soon after until 5am, dosing on and off until 9am.

I am currently post-Temo but pre-tea. I feel good, as I did during this window yesterday. I’m going to eat a bit less food a bit later than I did then. Hopefully, this strategy, together with the anti-sickness pills, will keep the nausea and vomiting at bay for today and, indeed, for the rest of this cycle. I will, of course, keep you posted, warts and all!

Poets’ Corner?

From Haiku to the Pirates of Penzance:

Cycle three began:

go forth temozolomide,

kick the Squatter out!

A friend emailed me the other day. She wished me well side-effects wise with my chemo and hoped that:

it just as importantly targets what

it needs to fight with its poisonous might“.

I liked both the messaging and phrasing of the hopes. Not only does the second line rhyme but I think it’s written in iambic pentameter? I first came across the term in the West Wing episode “And it’s Surely to Their Credit”. I Googled it because I had no idea what it meant. I am not confident that I know now, hence the question as to whether the above has indeed been iambic pentametered.

CSI: Burnopfield

Thankfully, I have the pre-chemo blood tests at our GP surgery, which is about five minutes’ away rather than the 45 minutes it takes to get to the hospital. When I went on Tuesday, I had my blood taken and then I asked the nurse to check a patch of skin on the inside of my knee. As we were both looking at my leg, I noticed a splash and a trickle of fresh blood on my other leg. When I looked at the blood test site on my arm, it looked like I’d been seriously injured with the amount of blood that was all over my arm and the table it was resting on! As well as my leg, blood was also dripping on to the chair and floor.

The nurse wiped my arm and then asked me to keep pressure on the blood extraction site. She then wiped the top of the table and the floor. Although she hadn’t finished cleaning up, to be fair, I noticed a thin line of blood that she’d missed on the side of the table where it had dripped from the top of the table on to the floor. It immediately reminded me of sample KRG-30/13 and where it was taken from in Line of Duty and I asked her if she was watching it. Sadly, she isn’t and therefore didn’t get the reference but she recommended Broadchurch. At least she didn’t seem perturbed by me comparing the blood test with a crime scene!

Anyway, I’m just about to have my lighter, smaller tea so fingers crossed it’ll not reappear later!

Meanwhile, Graham has taken Leo to the walk-in centre and is waiting to see whether a giant blood blister on his finger needs to be popped and/or dressed in a way that is Leo-proof. The Mother versus Son Drama Queen/King competition seems to have resurfaced…

rx

Leave a Reply

