Turn On, Tune In, Cop Out

The Brain Tumour Charity’s research strategy, A Cure Can’t Wait, has the twin goals of doubling survival rates within ten years and halving the harm that brain tumours have on quality of life within five years. 

The Brain Tumour Charity asked a while ago if I would be willing to share my family’s brain tumour stories and last week sent a press release out to coincide with the beginning of Brain Tumour Awareness Month. They arranged two interviews, the first of which was with a journalist from Global News, which provides the news bulletins for Smooth, Heart and Capital fm. The second interview was over the phone yesterday with a journalist from the Evening Chronicle, which was followed up with a photographer coming out today to take photos and record some video footage of me talking about what I’m going through.

I’m used to hiding behind my iPad, tapping away every now and then writing posts for this blog, energy permitting, over the course of a day or so. What I am not used to is being interviewed and it was hard to talk about something so devastating to our family. I’m still grappling with the effects of a mild speech issue as I have done since my Halloween Hannibal-style surgery – apparently the radiotherapy can also have an effect in this regard, as can fatigue and general tiredness. I struggle to think of the exact word I want sometimes and also struggle to put what I’m feeling or thinking into coherent free-flowing sentences. That’s not ideal for audio recordings!

From a control Freak Power perspective, I can edit, choose not to publish or delete anything that I write. With the interviews, I feel exposed as I’m in the journalists’ hands as to how they splice and dice the video/audio and present the story. What’s more, I hate the sound of my own voice!

In short, I don’t know that I want to watch it so it might be too embarrassing to have other people listen, watch and read what I’ve said! As I did it to raise awareness for the disease and specifically the amazing work of The Brain Tumour Charity, this seemed silly to me even as I was writing the previous sentence. Overriding that feeling of wanting to hide my efforts is that it feels good to be doing something constructive out of the destruction of the Squatter to help raise awareness for a cause close to my heart (and even closer to my head!). As I said to my Mam this morning, if what I’ve said can raise even a fiver for the Charity then that will have been worth the effort.

Just as long as I can cop out of having to listen, read and watch!

So, with that positive full-speed ahead publicity-driven frame of mind fixed (loosely) in place, here’s how you might be able to watch, read or listen:

1. We were told that the local news bulletins during the morning shows tomorrow (Thursday) on both Smooth and Heart fm should include the story. There are no guarantees, however, as a story could come up that blows mine out of the water (e.g., a water-skiing hamster!).

2. The Chronicle did not give any indication of when it might be in the paper so we will keep checking online and I will post a link if and when it appears.

rx

4 thoughts on “Turn On, Tune In, Cop Out”

Leave a Reply

