Cole’s Miscellany (Part Nine)

  • Meryl Streep’s speech rocked. Kellyanne Conway’s response did not (unless she misspoke and meant to refer to her paymaster instead):

img_1986

  • Perhaps if I had the time and energy, I’d write a book about the impending transfer of power in the States called “From The Audacity of Hope to Mendacity and the Dope”.
  • That reminds me: the first rule of Narcissism Club is that no one else can join. But enough about Trump.
  • I recently came across the phrase “lift while you climb”*. I hope that we all aspire to do this (even if we forget it and/or fail from time to time) but fear that it’s not something that reflects modern life.
  • On a lighter note, the Flash Mob craze passed me by – is it still a thing? Anyway, I recently came across this one, which makes me smile not because I’m a big Black Eyed Peas or Oprah fan but because of the sheer number of people involved, how it started with one girl at the front and Oprah’s obvious excitement at the surprise.
  • My favourite piece of trivia that I’ve learned this week is that one of Newcastle’s many claims to fame is the world’s first electric street lighting, which illuminated Mosley Street from 1879.

rx

*The full quote from which it derives is by Mary Church Terrell:

And so, lifting as we climb, onward and upward we go, struggling and striving, and hoping that the buds and blossoms of our desires will burst into glorious fruition ere long.

Leave a Reply

