Cole’s Miscellany (Part Eight)

  • For those who didn’t get the film reference (re Dumb-Ass) in my previous post, The Woman in the Thermoplastic Mask, watch this.
  • I read this article the other day reporting that Pfizer has been fined for overcharging the NHS for the Chocolate Fire Guard. Tut tut.
  • We had two parties for Leo last weekend and the Good Lady Grandma of the house made three cakes. This was the showpiece, which was appropriate for a boy for whom solid food was the answer (he’s barely stopped gobbling things up since he was introduced to porridge):

IMG_1275.JPG

  • Sunday marked a year since Leo was admitted into hospital at eight days old and Wednesday marked a year since he was discharged. He marked the occasion quite literally with a mottled viral rash all over his back and tummy. Never a week goes by without a medical appointment for someone in this house and, as I’m in a holding pattern until my appointments next week, Leo was kind to step in and take one for the team.
  • This is what I wrote on Facebook a year ago, which is similar to posts on this blog about my recent experiences with the NHS but is worth repeating:

    The NHS and its staff get slammed (not least by the minister in charge of it) but we’ve just experienced the NHS at its best in helping our brand new baby boy overcome viral meningitis. It was very scary at times but the community care from midwives who agreed with our concerns and referred Leo back to the RVI and the care provided to Leo (and us) by the staff of ward 33 and the special care babies unit was absolutely amazing. This included amazing support and care over the weekend (shock horror). Everyone (including nurses, midwives, consultants, registrars, junior doctors, catering staff, cleaners, and all other staff we came across) was wonderful with Leo and with us. We couldn’t be more grateful that our boy is on the mend and back at home.

  • Leo is starting to speak, saying “hello”, “oh dear” and “all gone” . The letter two phrases might well be linked to his eating habits (see above).
  • Jennifer has been “helping” to sort out some things from our house as part of the Cole clear out. She has disturbing hoarding tendencies reminding me of the Doctor of the house.
  • This bookworm puzzle is a partial explanation of why I’ve Gone Quiet in the last few days. That, and a big step-up in the dating habits of me and the Silver Fox with a visit to Five Guys.
  • I have just learned that “i.e.” stands for “id est”. That’s me done for the day on the learning front so I can chill.
  • Miss W was kind enough to surprise me before my operation with key rings made for me and my people. She has about 20 left and is happy to sell them to those who would like one. They cost just over £2 so I would suggest a minimum of £3.50 so that the money can go towards brain tumour research. Let me know if you’re interested. The bowling ball has two holes (just like my head!):

img_1285

No real update on the Squatter front. I: am still averaging a seizure a day; have possible movement in the troublesome toes (I need the official Toe-Watch adjudicators to confirm); and, am enjoying the relative calm before the possible storm of radiotherapy starting next week.

That’s all Folks!

rx

 

Leave a Reply

